Hit the ground running: Attending the Joint MASC/MASS 2015 Conference

No sooner did I win a seat on the Melrose School Committee on Tuesday, November 3rd, than did I have a chance to dive right in: On Wednesday, November 4th I went to Hyannis for my first Massachusetts Association of School Committees and Massachusetts Association of School Superintendents Joint 2015 conference.

Watch this space as I unpack and process all that I learned.

In the meantime, the lectures and panels I attended,  include:

  • What School Committees Should Ask for from their School Business Officer
  • Defining Engagement: The Impact on Alternative and Special Education
  • Understanding the Redesigned College Board Assessments: PSAT and SAT
  • School Law 101
  • Keynote Speakers Dr. William Pollack and Ron Walker: Boys in Crisis
  • District Governance Program
  • Jack Gallagher, “A Different Kind of Cool”
  • Model Language for Knotty Problems: Do’s and Don’t’s of Collective Bargaining
  • New Member Orientation, Part 1
  • New Member Orientation, Part 2

I tweeted about many of the lectures, so review my feed for highlights. Over the course of the next few days I will talk about the experience and the panels.

One truly awesome experiences of the conference was the ability to network with like-minded people. In many cases, I met people whom I have followed and interacted with on social media. Additionally, I met many new people.

I cannot understate the value of networking: Whereas current Open Meeting Law places severe restrictions on the kinds and depth of policy and business discussions members of a School Committee can have out of session, School Committee Members from other committees can often share experiences, advice and opinions without fear of deliberations or OML violations.

Let me close with this: I was elected Tuesday. I attended the Joint MASC/MASS conference from Wednesday through Saturday. Today is Sunday. Time for family-centric activities. Thank you for reading.

One thought on “Hit the ground running: Attending the Joint MASC/MASS 2015 Conference

Leave a Reply

